TABLE OF CONTENTS


User Interface


The User Migrations module follows the same Common Grid Layout format as the Applications, Devices, Deployment Units, Defects and Bespoke modules. A description of the Common Grid Functionality can be found here 


Toolbar

How to see Application count for each user on the grid

From the Link Counts section of the Ribbon, 

  1. click on Applications
  2. Note the Application count column


How to see Device count for each user on the grid

From the Link Counts section of the Ribbon

  1. Click on Devices
  2. Note the Device count column



How to Manually create a New User Migration

User Migrations are generally created using Connectors, for example AD, SCCM, SysTrack, SNOW etc. However, if necessary, it is possible to manually create new User Migrations. Note, a universal license will be required for each new User Migration added to the database.


Click the New button in the Toolbar




Enter the First Name, Last Name, SAM Account and Domain

The SAM Account is mandatory

Choose the Process and Sub Process that the user will be added to. The defaults will already be selected.

Click New 


Using the Context Menu

The Context Menu (Right Click on the Grid) provides multi select functionality to the grid. It is possible to select one item using the left click of the mouse, or multiple items using a combination of ctrl or shift and left click. Once selected Right Click the mouse for the Context Menu.


General Information

  • Open Details: show the details tab for one or many items. It is possible to open in a new Tab or new Window.
  • Links: Allows adding Application, Device, Bespoke links to each user. See below for more detail
  • Self Schedule: Manually send emails to each user


  • New Note: Add Note information to one or many users. These notes are displayed in the Details Tab
  • New Task: Create a New Task for the User. Tasks will appear in the Task Tab as well as the Tasks Module
  • Move to Process: Change the Process and Sub Process of one or many User Migrations


  • Deployment Units: Add and Remove Deployment information for User Migrations. See below for detail on overriding Deployment Information
  • Blueprints: Add or Remove Blueprints for User Migrations. See Blueprints for info
  • Teams: Assign team members to User Migrations. This could be engineers, delegates etc
  • Update Fields: Bulk update Text, Dropdown and Date fields from the Details Tab
  • Update Custom Form: Bulk update Custom Form information for multiple User Migrations


  • Copy: Bulk copy one or many fields. See below
  • Lock: Lock and Unlock User Migrations. Locking will stop any changes and updates to the User Migration
  • Archive: Place User Migrations into an Archived state. These User Migrations will only be visible using the Segments\Other Filters\Archived view from the Ribbon
  • Delete: Mark User Migrations for permanent deletion. These User Migrations will be deleted after a set period of time. Until permanent deletion they can be viewed using the Segments\Other Filters\Deleted view and can then be Undeleted using the context menu


Application, Device and Bespoke item links can be added to each User Migration using the Right Click Context Menu.



How to Override Deployment Unit Information 

The Context menu can be used to Add and Remove a Deployment Unit for a User Migration. Multiple User Migrations can be added to and removed from Deployment Units using the context menu.


Additionally, it is possible to override Deployment Unit information for one or many User Migrations by selecting Override Migration Slot


This functionality should only be used as an exception when it is absolutely necessary to hand craft a particular migration


  1. Select the information that needs to be overridden by using the checkboxes to the right. Be careful as this will override information for all of the User Migrations selected.
  2. Change the information you wish to set for all User Migrations selected
  3. Click Update



How to bulk copy field information from the Grid

Using the Right Click Context menu, it is possible to copy multiple pieces of information for multiple User Migrations. After clicking Copy in the context menu, select the fields to be copied to the Clipboard



Note: The Copy button has three additional choices:
-Copy No Header
-Copy Comma Delimited
-Copy Space Delimited 




In the example below, Application links are added to User Migrations. The same process can be used for Devices, Mailboxes or Bespoke Objects. Generally Links are created automatically using connectors to (for example) SCCM, SNOW, NextThink etc. The information below shows how to do this process manually using the context menu.


Select the User Migrations that need to be updated. Right click for the context menu and select "Link Applications..."


  1. Search for the Application to be liked to each User Migration
  2. Select the Application from the Grid
  3. Click Create Links


After clicking Create Links, a link between each User Migration and that application will be created.


The "Create Links" button has a number of additional options depending upon whether Devices, Mailboxes and Bespoke items are enabled in ManagementStudio. This is discussed in the Complex Links section below.



Sometimes it is necessary to manually create a link chain between more than one item. For example:


John Smith uses Adobe Acrobat on Laptop Device LONPC001


In this example; 

  • Select the user John Smith from the main User Migrations grid. Right click for the context menu and select: "Add Links\To Applications"
  • When the Applications chooser appears, search for Adobe Acrobat, select the correct version. Now click on the down arrow on the Create Links button (see step 3 above)
  • Select Additional Links to Devices
  • The Device chooser will now appear. Select the Device or Devices that need to be linked to the User->App->Device relationship
  • Click Create Links


Further Support

If you require further support, please visit ManagementStudio's Service Desk at https://support.migrationstudio.com/ to search the knowledge base or create a new support ticket.